CMU women’s soccer team recruits keeper

Head coaches Cara Isaak and Lianna Bestvater have strengthened their roster at a very important position, securing the commitment of goalkeeper Morgan Pierce for the 2021 MCAC season. The soon-to-be Sturgeon Heights Collegiate graduate comes to the Blazers with a CV that boasts a impressive line of championship trophies and evidence of Pierce’s ability to prevent goals by way of athleticism, positioning and organizing her defenders. 

“Morgan is a strong goalkeeper who has great instincts and is really vocal with her backline,” said Isaak. “She is familiar with quite a few of our incoming players and her cheery personality will make her a great fit with our team.”

Pierce’s most recent club commitment has been with Charleswood. In each of the past four seasons, Pierce has backstopped the Strikers to both League and City Championships in indoor and outdoor soccer and she is eager to kick on in the MCAC and challenge herself with a higher level of competition.

“I cannot wait until I play with CMU. I am excited to be part of the team and to compete with people that share the same passion for the game as I do,” said Pierce. “Competing in the MCAC is something I am very excited for, mostly to learn from my coaches and teammates as well as to adapt to the higher level of play.”

“Morgan is a really hard worker and is very coachable,” added Isaak. “She always asks plenty of questions and wants to learn what the rest of the positions are doing as well. We are all eager to see the snow melt, training to resume and having Morgan’s commitment to be here with us is a real plus for when we get back on the pitch.”

The Blazers will enter their first season as full members of the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) in 2021. The new affiliation of CMU and the MCAC with the national conference will mark the first opportunity for a Manitoba representative to compete at the National Championships of Women’s Soccer, scheduled to kick-off in November Seneca College. Eight teams will compete for gold in Toronto, including the winners from the five CCAA-regions, PacWest (BC), ACAC (Alberta-Sask), MCAC (Manitoba), OCAA (Ontario – winner and host), RSEQ (Quebec) and ACAA (Atlantic). Two wild-card entrees will fill the remaining places in the competition.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s