Providence and Red River College basketball joining NIAC in 2017-2018 Season

The Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference has announced that Red River College (RRC) and Providence University College (PUC) Men’s and Women’s Basketball teams will join the Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NIAC) for the 2017-18 season.

The two schools will join Canadian Mennonite University (CMU) in their move across the border, who started competing in the NIAC last season while also playing in the MCAC. Their men’s basketball program – who won their first MCAC Championship this season since 2008 – finished their NIAC regular season ranked fourth in a field of seven teams. The CMU women’s team finished third in NIAC competition, after losing in the MCAC Championship Final to Red River College.

All three schools will balance their schedules so they can exist in both Conferences, giving athletes of CMU, PUC and RRC a chance to compete in more games and see more competition.

“This is an exciting time for our conference” remarked Dan Hovestol, President of the NIAC. “This is our conference’s largest expansion since its inception in 1983 and I’m quite certain adding these colleges will only enhance the competitive level of play on the court.”
MCAC President, Shane Ray, is also excited for the opportunities that the transition into a new league will give athletes of the MCAC.

“Student athletes in Manitoba will have a unique opportunity to be able to showcase their skills in three states and one province.  Competing for both a Manitoba and NIAC Championship will add motivation for our teams as they strive for excellence. We look forward to the upcoming season.”

CMU, RRC and PUC will play a full schedule in North Dakota, South Dakota and Minnesota.  The MCAC Championship will be hosted on February 10th 2018 at Canadian Mennonite University followed by the NIAC Championship, February 15th – 17th, 2018 at Cankdeska Cikana Community College.  
NIAC is a 10 team athletic conference that includes the following schools:
  • Association Free Lutheran Bible School (Plymouth, Minnesota)
  • Cankdeska Cikana Community College (Fort Totten, North Dakota)
  • Leech Lake Tribal College (Cass Lake, Minnesota)
  • Oak Hills Christian College (Bemidji, Minnesota)
  • Trinity Bible College (Ellendale, North Dakota)
  • Turtle Mountain Community College (Belcourt, North Dakota)
  • Sisseton Wahpeton College(Agency Village, South Dakota)
  • Canadian Mennonite University (Winnipeg, Manitoba)
  • Red River College (Winnipeg, Manitoba)
  • Providence University College (Otterburne, Manitoba)
The 2017-18 NIAC schedule is expected to be released soon, and will include the complete home schedules for the MCAC schools.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s